Possibilities

On Friday, I’ll be flying to our nation’s capitol for several days of (hopefully) successful internship hunting. The District of Columbia is a fascinating city, but also one I like learning about in books rather than on foot or by taxi.

My two visits at ages 7 and 10 gave me the impression of grey buildings, grey weather and grey people. Politics leaves a vile taste in my mouth even today and to hear all these people talking and talking about it and not getting anything done drove me crazy as an attention deficient child.

So why do back?

I’ll be honest, I’m heading there for someone. My sweet girlfriend is studying in MU’s program there and will likely continue to do so after the end of this semester. When we’re together we both work like clockwork and do our journalism better than the sum of our talents would suggest. We just click. But not over 900 miles.

So my solution is to go her. Farther from my comfort zone than ever before, living an working in a foreign city will be an important growing process for me, as well as get to know a different kind of environment for my photography. But really, its for  us.

I like cities and the urban hipster inside me is dying that I’m not taking off for New York City. But close enough is close enough. Hopefully I’ll have time to get to know DC well enough to assuage my grudge.

I’ll be staying in the Hyatt Arlington hotel just over the state line and one metro stop away from the National Cemetery. I’ve never visited it, though I’m sure the air is palpable with stories of honor and love for our nation. An experience I really want to photograph, though I will have to tread lighter than ever, is the guard at the eternal flame for the men missing in action.

The next few days will be an experiment in travel blogging. Should be great pics and fun new people to add to my Google+ circle!

Leave a comment